“Someone actually approached me to play the role of a failed father,” Leung said, “but I rejected it because I don’t want to be reminded of how my dad treated me.” Leung said his lonely childhood led him to admire solitary hobbies later in life such as reading, riding a bicycle, or going to museums. “Maybe it’s because of my childhood background, which made me distance myself from people,” he said, Since then, I’ve learned to find something that I really enjoy doing whilst I’m alone. Because you cannot always rely on being with people to feel happy, right?”

With “Shang-Chi” and the character of Wenwu, Leung finally agreed to play a less-than-perfect father figure on screen. It was this aspect to the character that Leung found appealing as “Frankly, I couldn’t imagine someone in the real world with superpowers…But I can imagine someone like him who is an underdog, who is a failure of a father.” Leung said of Wenwu, “On the one hand, he’s a bad father, but on the other, I just see him as someone who loves his family deeply. I don’t think he knows how to love himself.” Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.